clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ryan Tannehill and Jurrell Casey get added to Pro Bowl rosters

Not the “Bowl” they wanted to be playing in, but deserved honors for two guys who had really good years.

AFC Championship - Tennessee Titans v Kansas City Chiefs Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images

The Titans season sadly fell short of the Super Bowl yesterday, but that doesn’t mean the entire season was a failure. This team provided some unbelievable memories for a fan base that was in need of a jolt. I’ll never forget the comeback win against Kansas City, the blocked field goal in Indy, the incredible playoff performances in New England and Baltimore, A.J. Brown and Derrick Henry running wild over opposing secondaries, or the offensive explosion that followed Ryan Tannehill’s insertion in the starting lineup.

For that reason, I’m glad that Ryan Tannehill and Jurrell Casey are getting recognition by being named to the Pro Bowl. Both guys were originally listed as alternates, but got the nod to replace Patrick Mahomes and Chris Jones in Orlando this weekend.

This is Casey’s fifth consecutive Pro Bowl appearance. That’s the most appearances of any player in a Titans uniform, and it’s now tied with Earl Campbell, Ray Childress, Charley Hennigan, and Ken Houston for the 7th most selections in franchise history. He finished the regular season with 5 sacks, but added 2.5 more in the playoffs, including a game changing strip sack of Lamar Jackson to help the Titans advance to the AFC Championship.

This will be Tannehill’s first Pro Bowl appearance as he’ll join Lamar Jackson and Deshaun Watson in representing the AFC. The Titans quarterback led the NFL in passer rating and yards per attempt. His 22 passing touchdowns tied for 10th in franchise history despite the fact that he only started ten games.

Casey and Tannehill join Derrick Henry and Brett Kern as the Titans representatives in Orlando. The Pro Bowl game will be played on January 26th at 2:00 PM CT airing on ESPN. You can also watch the Skills Competition on Thursday night at 8:00 PM CT on ESPN.

Congratulations to Ryan and Jurrell for their great 2019 seasons!