clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ryan Tannehill wins two Pro Football Writers of America awards

NFL: JAN 11 AFC Divisional Playoff - Titans at Ravens Photo by Mark Goldman/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

After screwing A.J. Brown in the Offensive Rookie of the Year award voting, the Pro Football Writers of America got two awards right today when they awarded Ryan Tannehill both the Comeback Player of the Year and Most Improved Player of the Year. This shouldn’t come as a big surprised after the Miami Dolphins basically gave Tannehill away this offseason. What a ridiculously good move by Jon Robinson to take advantage of that.

As we sit here just two days away from the AFC Championship Game, it is crazy to think that it wouldn’t be possible without Tannehill. Of course Derrick Henry has been great and the team has ridden him the last two weeks, but they don’t make the postseason at all without Tannehill and his 9.6 yards per attempt and 22 passing touchdowns.

Here’s to hoping this isn’t the only hardware that Tannehill wins in the 2019 season. These awards would look really nice next to a Lamar Hunt Trophy and a Lombardi Trophy.