clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Pro Football Hall of Fame Class Announced

One of the traditions of Super Bowl week is that the Pro Football Hall of Fame announces the class that will be inducted the following August the Saturday before.  Today seven players were announced, and they are Deion Sanders, Marshall Faulk, Shannon Sharpe, Richard Dent, Ed Sabol, Les Richter and Chris Hanburger.  This is an especially happy night for gramsey because he loves Deion with all of his heart. 

You can click on any of the players above to view their career achievements.  Sabol founded NFL Films.

It is about time for Dent. 

It blows my mind a little bit that Curtis Martin and Jerome Bettis didn't get in.  They are 4th and 5th respectively on the all-time career rushing list.  I know they both played for a long time and got a lot of carries, but that doesn't mean they shouldn't get in.

I also don't understand what is keeping Chris Carter out.  He is 3rd all-time in receptions, 8th in yards, and 4th in TDs.