clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

QBs and Fantasy Football

Let's talk about QBs in fantasy football this year.  It has always been one of the toughest positions for me in a draft because I am usually not willing to take on early enough to get one of the best guys, and so I end up waiting forever because every time my pick comes around again all of the guys left on the board look the same to me.  I end up deciding I will get one next time, and that goes on for 5 rounds. 

In the last couple of years I have started looking at positions in tiers (I know that is not something new, but I have never really done it before) and looking at the QB numbers from last year I came up with the tiers after the jump:

Tier 1

Aaron Rodgers, Drew Brees, Peyton Manning and believe it or not Matt Schaub

Tier 2

Brett Favre, Tom Brady, Tony Romo, Ben Roethlisberger*, and Philip Rivers

Tier 3

Jay Cutler, Eli Manning Donovan McNabb, Jason Campbell

Tier 4

David Garrard, Kyle Orton, Carson Palmer*, Joe Flacco*

Tier 5

Matt Ryan*, Matt Cassel, Matt Hasselbeck, Chad Henne, Alex Smith

Again, that is based on last year's numbers.  Here are my comments- Rapelisberger has to go down a tier because he will miss 4 games.

Palmer, Flacco and Ryan will all move up at least 1 tier this year.  Ryan might move up two.

With the exception of the above mentioned tier movers, Vince Young is a better option than any of the guys in 4 and 5.  Book it!

Also keep in mind that you can get your CBS Fantasy Football league for half off by following this link, and don't forget that the award-winning Fantasy Football Commissioner League is a highly popular fantasy option thanks to its high levels of league customization, its draft options (live, continuous or auction drafts supported), and its mobile phone accessibility, not to mention its historical archiving for future seasons and fast live scoring. is an SB Nation partner and paying sponsor of the SB Nation football communities.This post is one of a series of sponsor endorsed posts relating to the Fantasy Football Commissioner League.