clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colts QB Peyton Manning Wins AP NFL MVP

To the shock of pretty much no one, Colts QB Peyton Manning has been named the AP's 2009 NFL MVP. 

The surprising story to me here is how the vote went.  There are 50 votes- Peyton got 39 1/2, Drew Brees 7 1/2, Philip Rivers 2 and Brett Favre 1.  Seems to me that there is an obvious name missing from that list.  I never thought Chris Johnson would actually win the award, but the fact that he didn't receive one single vote blows my mind. 

I guess there is always the Offensive Player of the Year which is named next week.