Titans vs. Chargers NFL Game Capsule

Sep 09, 2012; Nashville, TN, USA; Tennessee Titans wide receiver Nate Washington (85) makes a catch against New England Patriots corner back Devin McCourty (32) and safety Steve Gregory (28) during the second half at LP Field. The Patriots beat the Titans 34-13. Mandatory credit: Don McPeak-US PRESSWIRE

Click through the jump for this week's game capsule.

TENNESSEE TITANS (0-1) AT SAN DIEGO CHARGERS (1-0)

SERIES

TITANS

CHARGERS

SERIES LEADER

24-13-1

STREAKS

Past 7

COACHES VS. OPP.

Munchak: 0-0

Turner: 6-2

LAST WEEK

L 34-13 vs. Patriots

W 22-14 at Raiders

LAST GAME

10/31/10: Titans 25 at Chargers 33. San Diego RBs Mike Tolbert & Ryan Mathews each add TD run as TE Antonio Gates catches 5 passes for 123 yards & TD in win on Halloween.

LAST GAME AT SITE

10/31/10

BROADCAST

CBS (1:25 PM PT): Ian Eagle, Dan Fouts. Dial Global Radio: Wayne Larrivee, Mark Malone. SIRIUS: 91 (Ten.), 94 (SD). XM: 227 (SD).

STATS

PASSING

Locker: 23-32-229-1-1-89.2

Rivers: 24-33-231-1-0-102.0

RUSHING

Locker (QB): 2-11-5.5-0

Brinkley: 10-12-1.2-0

RECEIVING

C. Johnson (RB): 6-47-7.8-0

R. Brown (RB): 5-26-5.2-0

OFFENSE

284.0

258.0

TAKE/GIVE

-2

+1

DEFENSE

390.0

321.0

SACKS

Wimbley: 1

Phillips: 2 (T1C)

INTs

---

---

PUNTING

Kern: 52.3 (3C)

Scifres: 54.3 (1C)

KICKING

Bironas: 7 (1/1 PAT; 2/2 FG)

Kaeding: 16 (T1L) (1/1 PAT; 5/5 FG)

NOTES

TITANS: QB JAKE LOCKER completed 23 of 32 passes (71.9 pct.) for 229 yards with 1 TD vs. 1 INT & 89.2 passer rating in 1st career start. Completed at least 1 pass to 9 different players last week…RB CHRIS JOHNSON (200) joined EDDIE GEORGE (259) last week as only RBs to reach 200 career rec. in franchise history. Johnson (38) needs 2 rush TDs to join HOFer EARL CAMPBELL (73) & George (64) as only players to reach 40 career in club annals. In 2 career meetings vs. SD, Johnson has rushed for 201 yards on 36 carries (5.6 avg.) with 2 rush TDs…WR NATE WASHINGTON had 4 catches for 117 yards (29.3 avg.), incl. 71-yard TD catch in last game against Chargers. Had 29-yard TD catch last week. For career, WR KENNY BRITT averages 17.5 yards per catch (101 catches, 1,765 rec. yards)…Since ’11, TE JARED COOK ranks 3rd in AFC among TEs with 823 receiving yards (ROB GRONKOWSKI, 1,387; AARON HERNANDEZ, 969)…DE KAMERION WIMBLEY had career-best 4 sacks vs. Chargers on 11/10/11 (w/ Raiders). Registered 1st career sack in Titans debut…CHARGERS: Seek 8th consecutive win vs. Titans…QB PHILIP RIVERS has 37-11 (.771) career record at home as starter with 97.8 passer rating. For career, Rivers is 4-0 with 7 TDs vs. 3 INTs & 97.9 passer rating vs. Ten. Rivers is 38-8 (.826) as starter when posting 100+ passer rating…Chargers are 7-1 when RB RYAN MATHEWS has 80+ rush yards in game. RB RONNIE BROWN had team-high 5 rec. in Chargers debut…TE ANTONIO GATES (597) has most career rec. in franchise history. Gates (76) trails only HOFer LANCE ALWORTH (81) for most TD catches in franchise history. Had 5 rec. for 123 yards (24.6 avg.) with TD in last meeting vs. Ten…WR MALCOM FLOYD had 6-yard TD rec. last week. WR ROBERT MEACHEM had 46-yard reception in Chargers debut…LB TAKEO SPIKES made 200th career start last week…LB SHAUN PHILLIPS (62) posted 2 sacks last week & has 3rd-most sacks among Chargers (LESLIE O’NEAL, 105.5; LEE WILLIAMS, 65.5) since sacks became official stat in ’82…S ERIC WEDDLE is tied for NFL-best with 7 INTs since ’11…TE DANTE ROSARIO registered blocked punt in SD debut.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Music City Miracles

You must be a member of Music City Miracles to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Music City Miracles. You should read them.

Join Music City Miracles

You must be a member of Music City Miracles to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Music City Miracles. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9341_tracker